Skip to main content
Exploring Four Evolutionary Processes

Exploring Four Evolutionary Processes


Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Pinterest
Share On LinkedIn
Subject ScienceLife Science
Grade Level Grades 3-5
Resource Type Activity

About This Lesson

This project is a representation of four evolutionary processes. The four processes are mutation, natural selection, gene flow, and genetic drift. There are five lesson plans that address these four topics as well as each one addressing a certain disability. These lesson plans have been designed based on certain disabilities and their definition, but that does not mean that they will work for every single person who has that disability. Every person is different, and these can be used in any way for any group of students. Natural selection is the process in which living things adapt to the environment in order to survive and reproduce. Thus, increasing the frequency of the favored trait and decreasing the unfavored trait in the population. Mutation is the only source for new genetic material, and it happens when a new gene is created due to a random change in an already existing gene. Genetic drift is a change in the gene pool due to chance and it has a bigger effect on smaller populations. Genetic flow is the spread on new genetic material between two populations of the same species. Each of these lessons allow students to gain a better understanding of an evolutionary process in a hands on experience. 



Lesson Plans.pdf

February 13, 2020
89.19 KB
December 01, 2019